trcb

Going Bananas for Banana

Disclaimer: This is the full feature from The Royal Chef column on Edge Davao.
Photos from Pixabay.com

Who doesn’t love to eat banana’s? I sure do. For one, these elongated and curved fruit with soft flesh is as versatile as any other fruit in the market. The fact that it has varieties (ripe and unripe) makes it even more beautiful. Not to mention, the abundance all around and all year round is a plus.

Aside from the usual, bananas also pack a number of nutritional values. From blood pressure to asthma to heart health and even memory booster, bananas surely is bursting with everything you need on a daily basis.

How do I like them? I like them so much that I always find a way to incorporate them into my dishes. Be it sweet or savory, I always find a way. Here’s some of my sweet banana recipe faves that you’d also love.

Banana Apple Smoothie
trcbThis has been a favorite of mine since I can remember. I love that, instead of munching on fruits, you can blend and mix them to create a sweet flavour combo perfect for your cravings. As an added twist, I add a dash of cayenne pepper to balance out the sweetness.

Ripe Banana, peeled and chopped
Apple (you can use red or green), chopped
Soy or Rice Milk (you can use any other milk)
Raw Honey (normally I use 1 teaspoon)
Cinnamon Powder
Cayenne Pepper

*In a blender, mix all ingredients until well blended. You can add pieces of ice cubes
or a scoop of vanilla ice cream for a richer and creamier smoothie.

Banana Oatmeal
trcbI have been snacking on a bowl of banana oats on a regular basis. I prepare them ahead and have them anytime I please. I love that it’s like a blank canvass — can add any flavours to suit your cravings. Sometimes, I add pieces of dried fruits, toasted oats (for crunch) and other fruit
pieces (depending on what I have available). You can also add chocolate if you want.

Ripe Banana, peeled and chopped
Oats
Soy or Rice Milk (you can use any other milk)
Plain Yoghurt
Raw Honey
cinnamon Powder

*Ratio that I use: 1 (oats): 1 yoghurt: 1 (milk)
*In a bowl, add all the ingredients.
*Mash bananas but leave it out chunks.
*Place inside fridge for 30 minutes or more.
Eat and Enjoy.

Banana Bread
trcbGo-to Banana Bread recipe
The simplest way to satisfy my banana craving. Yes, I’m a big banana bread lover. And this recipe is one to make you fall in love with them even more.

2 cups all-purpose flour
1 teaspoon baking soda
1/4 teaspoon salt
1/2 cup butter
3/4 cup brown sugar
2 eggs, beaten
2 1/3 cups mashed overripe bananas

*Preheat oven to 350 degrees F
*Lightly grease loaf pan.
*In a large bowl, combine flour, baking soda and salt.
*In a separate bowl, cream together butter and brown sugar. Stir in eggs and mashed
bananas until well blended. Stir banana mixture into flour mixture. Stir just to moisten.
*Pour batter into prepared loaf pan.
*Bake for 60 to 65 minutes or until inserted toothpick comes out clean.
*Let bread cool in pan for 10 minutes.
Serve

Fried Banana
trcbEasiest way to satisfy a growling tummy? Fried bananas, baby! I just love the versatility of banana. Cooked or not, you’ll always have a minion-rific time with banana.

Flour
Egg whites
Milk
Banana, peeled and sliced horizontally
Oil
Brown sugar, topping

*In a bowl, mix flour, egg and milk to form a batter. Keep the consistency to a medium thickness. Use egg white to avoid browning the banana.
*Dip sliced bananas in batter.
*Deep fry until both sides turn brown but not burned.
*Once fried, roll over brown sugar and cinnamon powder mixture.
Option: Top fried banana slices with scoop of vanilla ice cream.
Enjoy while it’s hot.

Follow my messy food affair at theroyalchefeats.wordpress.com
IG: @iamleebai

Leave a Reply

