Jollycow Milky Recipes

Disclaimer: This is NOT a sponsored post.

I was never in love with milk. In truth, milk, for me, equals torture in my stomach hence I cannot just drink milk or have milk on my drinks when I am out. My tummy tends to give a wild acrobatic stunt and grunt at the same time. However, like most of you, I have had my stubborn moments and downed a glass of milk. The result? Need I say more?

Not because my tummy does not agree with milk does not mean I don’t enjoy dishes with milk. I just have to make sure that I’m on my way home when I want to splurge on some milky goodness or have my meds with me – at all times. Despite of it all, I still use milk when I’m inside my kitchen and trying my best to be like Raymond Blanc. I still use milk — just in small amounts.

I Have experimented with a number of milk products and some of them were okay while others were simply not made for cooking… if that makes any sense. Of the many that I have tried, I love how Jollycow milk products make for a best partner when it comes to cooking.

Despite it being milky, it does not give off that foul milky aroma when cooked. I mean, we love the smell of milk but there are just some recipes/dishes that are way too milky to fathom.

Here’s some of my go-to milk recipes. These are just some of those that I’d whip when either I’m bored or wants to awaken my culinary soul. If you don’t find my milk choice your cup of tea, then you can always substitute yours 🙂

PS. Speaking of dishes with milk, when in Singapore, try the Fried Fish Soup with Milk. Yummy lah.

img_0129-3Unconventional Creamy-Pesto Pasta
I love my pasta.. hence, I love the idea that I can experiment with my pasta sauces all the time. This one is a mixture of cream and pesto. A bit of something for everyone.

1/2 c all purpose cream
1/2 c cream of mushroom
1/4 c milk
1/2 can sliced mushrooms
1/4 c pesto
1 can hot & spicy tuna flakes, drained
herbs
salt and pepper to taste
cooked penne (follow package directions)

1Cook the pasta accordingly. Do not drain all the pasta water. Save some. Set aside.
2In a pan with a small amount of oil, saute mushrooms for a minute or two.
3Add all purpose cream, cream of mushroom. Mix until lumps disappear. Add milk and mix again. Bring to slow simmer.
4Pour pesto and mix. Add tuna flakes, herbs, grated cheese and season to taste.
5Pour cooked pasta — if sauce gets too thick, add some pasta water. Mix pasta and sauce. Serve with cheese and some melba toasts on the side.

Wake Me Up Smoothie
This is my usual breakfast whenever I’m running late.. which is often. I found the recipe on the internet and since then been making this whenever I can. What I love about this is that you can mix and match the milk — you can use flavoured milk and still get that perky kick any time of any day.

1 banana (frozen or not)
2 tablespoon peanut butter (I like it chunky)
2 cups almond milk
1 cup soaked oatmeal
ice cubes

In a blender, mix all ingredients except the ice. Once well incorporated, add the ice and crush to your liking. Others add scoops of softened ice cream. Yum!Yum!

Carrot and Cheese CupcakesBasic Cupcake
Here’s my personal go-to cupcake recipe that I tweak every so often. I use this for my calamansi cupcake and mocha-coffee cuppies that my nephews and niece love very much.

1 1/2 c cake flour
1 tbsp baking powder
cinnamon powder
1/2 c butter, softened
1 c sugar
2 eggs
1/4 c milk

Preheat oven.
Mix all dry ingredients.
1In a bowl, mix butter and sugar. Beat until fluffy and pale.
2Gradually add the eggs (at a time) while continuosly mixing.
3Mix dry ingredients until incorporated. TIP: Leave some small lumps on your batter. It makes your cupcakes fluffier. TIP2: Use spatula to mix.
4Add milk and mix.
5Pour into cupcake molds and bake for 15 to 20 minutes or until inserted toothpick comes out clean.
You can add your desired flavours after you add the milk. Mix with spatula.

Milk and Chia Seeds Pudding
Aside from the perk me up smoothie, I love this simple yet filling recipe. Got the idea from those jars of overnight oats with some chia seeds in them. At times, I soak some oats, add slices of ripe banana and raw honey for that morning smile we all need. Again, play around with the flavours and make it different every single time.

French Toast
Nothing new here – I just add some grounded coffee foer that added punch. I love that you need not have a ton of ingredients to taste a proper French toast — just your bread, eggs, milk , cinnamon and you are all set. Oh and some butter!

Leave a Reply

