Go for flavours and colours for a party to remember (Photo not mine)

How to Throw a Cocktail Party

Go for flavours and colours for a party to remember (Photo not mine)
Go for flavours and colours for a party to remember (Photo not mine)

I’ve had my days of partying in the metro from sun down to sun up and have enjoyed the company of more than enough people to know the difference between partying and going out. However, the party spirit in me, nowadays, love entertaining friends over at my house and chill the night away. I love the idea of cooking and preparing everything from scratch.

Still, the preparation that comes before everything else either makes me go forth and continue with the plan or reschedule for some other time. Yes, despite the gusto, I sometimes find myself at a crossroad. What if it turns out lame? What if they don’t like the food?

So, I’ve prepared a list that I believe have taught me to throw a cocktail party that makes everyone enjoy the night away. It’s a personal compilation that has aided me whenever I feel the rush to invite friends and use the oven. It’s not extensive but could verily help you in your party planning needs. Enjoy!

Invites

Get crafty with papers or send one thru electronic mail. Do what’s convenient for you and your guests. Nowadays, going social with social media is the best possible way to invite. Be creative. Make it personal.

Finger foods to keep everyone full and satisfied (photo not mine)
Finger foods to keep everyone full and satisfied (photo not mine)

Edible Centrepieces

Ditch the usual flowers and go for something edible. I love how a watermelon can be made into a punch bowl — mix and match fruit juices and you have a mocktail served on a watermelon. You can also create an appetizer bouquet for an added flare.

Cucumber and tuna combo is always a hit in any party (photo not mine)
Cucumber and tuna combo is always a hit in any party (photo not mine)

Cucumber Lovin’

I am a cucumber lover! Peel your cucumber, cut in 1 ¼ slices, scoop out the center, and fill with your favourite mix.

Cheesy Tuna Salad

  • Drain your tuna (I love the hot and spicy variant). Dump in a bowl and set aside.

  • In a bowl, combine chopped red onion, crushed fried garlic, mayonnaise, salt and freshly ground black pepper. You can add garlic powder, smoked paprika or any other herbs of your preference.

  • Add your tuna to the mayo mixture. Add shredded cheddar cheese (I also add some cheese spread). Mix to combine.

  • Scoop into your cucumber cups. Top with shredded cheese or smoked paprika.

Best served cold.

Create a colorful deviled eggs buffet (Photo not mine)
Create a colorful deviled eggs buffet (Photo not mine)

Bites Galore

Since this is a cocktail party, you are not expected to cook a whole meal and feed your guests like it’s dinner or whatever. Instead, prepare bite size appetizers. Go for finger foods – quartered sandwiches, devilled eggs, salad cups and mini muffins. Yes, go for muffins instead of cupcakes. It’s less expensive to bake and more so, no icing/frosting to pipe.

Devilled Egg

  • Boil your eggs. Peel. Cut in two. Scoop out yolk and set aside.

  • In a bowl, mash your yolks, add your mayonnaise and season to taste.

You can always add your desired flavours and herbs.

Don’t be afraid to experiment.

  • Scoop on your white and serve immediately.

 

A watermelon punch mocktail (photo not mine)
A watermelon punch mocktail (photo not mine)

Drink Me Up

Since I don’t like alcoholic drinks, I keep a stash of mocktails on tables for my guests and friends to enjoy. For most, I have pitchers of juices and ask them to mix their own. Not only do they have something to do but more so, they can experiment on their drinks. Oh and always check on your ice cubes, fruits pieces and garnishes. Also, don’t forget to experiment – add spirits, carbonated drinks, and even syrups.

Playlist

Prepare your playlist. Make it diverse and varied. I love to mix and match my tunes – from edm to rnb to hip hop, make it energetic and something that your friends and guests know. Just control the volume if you have overly sensitive neighbours.

Make #TheRoyalChef your Thursday habit. Tag me on instagram @herroyalheiress for your delicious food finds!

2 thoughts on “How to Throw a Cocktail Party

Leave a Reply

