Sweet Tofu @BulgogiBrosPh (@herroyalheiress)Sweet Tofu @BulgogiBrosPh (@herroyalheiress)

Food-tography Tour with Jojie Alcantara (July 2015)

Once a foodie, always a foodie. . .

Sangria @CellardeBoca (@herroyalheiress)
Sangria @CellardeBoca (@herroyalheiress)

What began as a technical lecture turned into a fun, memorable moment with foodies, photo enthusiasts and media practitioners during the coveted Food-tography with Jojie Alcantara and Fuji Film Ph last June 18, 2015 at the Sm Lanang Premier. It was a tour of flavours and gastronomic adventure that re-ignited the foodie in us– literally in a snap!

Although it was the first day of our month-long celebration of Ramadan, I was still in tip top spirit as we transferred from one restaurant to another. Despite the encouraging smell and sight, I was able to have fun and make the most of the moment – minus the eating part, of course.

The tour was participated by 6 dynamic food establishments at the Sm Lanang Premier. From appetizers of flavours and taste to mains of meat to an ice cold dessert and coffee in the end, it was truly a foodie’s kind of tour. The participating establishments were Bulgogi Brothers, Cellar de Boca, Banana Leaf, Vikings, Giardino Gelato and Blugre.

Spicy Rice Cake @BulgogiBrosPh (@herroyalheiress)
Spicy Rice Cake @BulgogiBrosPh (@herroyalheiress)
Sweet Tofu @BulgogiBrosPh (@herroyalheiress)Sweet Tofu @BulgogiBrosPh (@herroyalheiress)
Sweet Tofu @BulgogiBrosPh (@herroyalheiress)
Seafood Dimsum@BulgogiBrosPh (@herroyalheiress)
Seafood Dimsum@BulgogiBrosPh (@herroyalheiress)

Basically, the food-tography’s main goal was for participants to learn how to take the most appetising food shots using their phones and cameras. During the tour, each will be given a chance to win GC’s from participating establishments through photos posted on their personal instagram account. They have to use hashtags though for the judges to filter the photos. Oh, this was done real time – 10 mins photo opt, 10 mins eating.

The foodie in me kept to my camera and angles. I took my time taking photos and of course, talking to co-media practitioners, friends and foodies alike. I was happy listening to their tales of taste as I envision the taste of every cuisine showcased during the tour. Was I satisfied? Very!

Deep fried Chicken Pandan @BananaLeaf (@herroyalheiress)
Deep fried Chicken Pandan @BananaLeaf (@herroyalheiress)
Honey Glazed Chicken@BulgogiBrosPh (@herroyalheiress)
Honey Glazed Chicken@BulgogiBrosPh (@herroyalheiress)

Personally, the event was favourable to me as I learned how to use my camera, look for natural light and click. Since forever, I struggled with taking food shots because either (1) I leave my good camera at home or (2) I’m so hungry. Now, I know that to get the best shot, I need to stand up and make a stand.

More so, it was such an event to remember as Jojie Alcantara, premier photographer,was there making sure that we were all able to understand the lecture. She too was accommodating that I fell right at place. Again, very thankful for the experience.

Given the opportunity, I’d take the tour again!

One thought on “Food-tography Tour with Jojie Alcantara (July 2015)

Leave a Reply

