Muffins 101 (photo not mine)

It’s a MUFFIN love after all (June 2015)

Muffin Eats (photo not mine)
Muffin Eats (photo not mine)

I’m a self-confessed muffin lover. Yes, I’m a picky cake eater. I’m not one to patronize an overly decorated cupcake and muffin and a sweeter than life icing. I want my cupcakes and muffins simple and moist. I want them flavorful and pleasant to the bite. I want them full and popped.

Yes, I am still not the pastry chef my peers expect me to be but I am learning to be one. With nothing but a handful of flour and my imagination to help me, I have embarked on a new delicious journey – a muffin journey.

So, here are some of my favourite muffin recipes that have made me happy after a baking session. They’re basic recipes I have tweaked and adjusted to my preference. Hence, you can always adjust them to your taste.

Banana Muffin
I love Banana’s hence this is not a surprise to have on my list. I love how the banana fills my senses even before I bake them.

*Preheat oven at 325 degrees F. Prepare muffin/cupcake pan with liners. Set aside.
*In a medium bowl, whisk together 3 cups of all purpose flour, 1 tsp baking soda, 1 tsp salt and ½ tsp baking powder. Set aside.
*In another bowl, whisk together 2 cups granulated sugar, 1 cup vegetable oil, 3 eggs and 1 tsp vanilla extract.
*Gently stir in mashed 4 ripe bananas.
*Add the dry ingredients to the banana mixture. Fold until well blended.
*Fill prepared muffin pan.
*Bake until tops are golden brown and a toothpick tester comes out clean.

Muffins 101 (photo not mine)
Muffins 101 (photo not mine)

Vanilla Muffin
This is my go-to basic muffin recipe when I want to experiment. You can absolutely anything.

*Preheat oven at 400 degrees F . Prepare muffin/cupcake pan with liners. Set aside.
*In a large bowl, combine 4 cups all purpose flour, 2 cups granulated sugar and 1 tbsp + 2 tsp baking powder and ¼ tsp salt until blended.
*In another bowl, whisk together 2 cups milk, 2 eggs, 8 tbsp melted butter and 1 tsp vanilla extract.
*Mix dry and wet ingredients gradually.
*Spoon  into prepared tins and bake for 20 minutes or until a toothpick comes out clean.

Gooey Chocolate Muffin (photo not mine)
Gooey Chocolate Muffin (photo not mine)


Blueberry Muffin

This is my go-to sweet muffin. I love that I can substitute the blueberries with any other berries and fillings I want. Just don’t have it too runny or it’ll turn your muffins into sponge.

*Preheat oven at 350 degrees F. Prepare muffin/cupcake pan with liners.  Set aside.
*In a bowl, whisk together 2 cups all purpose flour, 1 tsp baking powder and ½ tsp salt. Combine until well mixed.
*In another bowl, whisk together 1 egg until light-coloured – about 20 seconds or so.
*Gradually add 1 cup granulated sugar  until mixture turns thick.
*Add 4 tbsp melted unsalted butter in 2 or 3 additions – whisking to combine after each addition.
*Add 1 ¼ cups sour cream in 2 additions.
*Add 1 ½ cups of frozen or fresh berries (you can choose any)to the dry ingredients and gently toss. Do not mash. Add the sour cream mixture and fold. Do not over mix.
*Spoon over prepared tins. Bake for 25 to 30 minutes – rotate the pan for an even top.
*Serve while hot.

 

Leave a Reply

