theroyalcehfeats

#RoyalChef attends Singapore Culinary Class (February,2015)

Anytime I want to explore a new place, I indulge. In other words, I eat. I try to sample and savor as many local dishes as I can and replicate their taste using local ingredients. However, as a foodie, I also believe that learning how they cook and prepare their dishes is another way of understanding their culture.

I have been fortunate enough to enroll and participate in a culinary class whenever I’m soul searching.It’s part of who I am. . . I love to eat and I also love to cook. Personally, I just love to challenge myself by mingling with the locals and be enthralled by the power of their tongues as they cook and prepare the meal.

theroyalcehfeats
Last year, it was in Singapore that I found myself spending a considerable amount of time in trying to find myself. Just because I want to learn, I took hold of my curiosity and heeded the call.

Enrolling myself in a pastry class was most definitely out of my reach. I have never been one to have the patience to bake.This time, I told myself I have to do this before I end up regretting the opportunity to do so.

theroyalchefeats
theroyalchefeats

The chef was nice. My classmates were homemakers and I was the only foreigner in the group. Also, theonly single one in the group. It was fine by me. Of the many classes I took, I most especially like this onebecause the cookies were easy to make and just needed a handful of ingredients. In short, it was a nofuss class that I can breeze through. Boy, I was wrong.

Don’t get me wrong. The class was fun. You were given the opportunity to ask questions and see howthe cookies were made from scratch. No, it was not a hands on class. Nevertheless, the class was full of surprises as the chef-instructor would talk in their native tongue while the class was going on.

My classmates and instructors in action
My classmates and instructors in action

I would always find my hand rising for queries and feel their eyes piercing right through me with a spark of curiosity. It was awkward on my end but my seatmate, who was a mother of 2 boys (28 and 21), was so nice that she’d translate for me. Thank you Mrs. Chen, who happened to be my neighbor.

The recipes were for Sesame Cookies and German Cookies that literally melts in your mouth.The former was so fragrant that you’d want to take one and pop in your mouth in an instant while the latter onlyneeded 5 ingredients to make. At the end of the class, we were each given a box of freshly baked cookiesto take home.

Melt in your mouth German Cookies
Melt in your mouth German Cookies
Freshly baked Sesame Cookies
Freshly baked Sesame Cookies

This year, I intend to take another set of classes and enjoy mingling with the locals. Of where I would be,that’s a tough question even I could not answer!

 

Leave a Reply

